Never the same….

21 04 2008

I am home.  Actually, right now I am sitting at my desk at the office.  I made it back to the ATL at dinner time last night.  The last 2 weeks have been life changing and world altering.  I will try and post pictures once I get them from the photo takers on the trip…they took about 2,000 pictures, so it may take a while to wade through them.

Immediate thoughts I have….

India has some very beautiful places that clearly show the Creativity of God.

India has some very horrible places that clearly show the corruption of man.

God loves India and the 1 billion+ people that live there.  God is moving there and India needs our prayers.

I am proud to live in America and I love the land that God has graced me to live in, but I learned some deep lessons on necessity and provision while in India.

I have seen 50 Indian Christian children pray more deeply and fervently than many pastors I have known in America.  That is not an indictment against the American clergy, but rather a glimpse of the lack of desperation in the American Church.

Those children see Jesus has their father and the provider of everything.  If they see a need, no matter how small, they immediatley cover it in prayer and He meets that need every time.

Middle class in India means you live in a house made out of something more solid than a tarp.

AC & ice are big time luxuries in India.

I found fruit to be an amazing treat in India.  The orange I ate in Mamallapurum (MA-HA-MA-LA-PURR-UM) was the sweetest fruit I have ever eaten.  Not because it was especially tasty, but because I had eaten spicy & salty rice dishes for 10 days and the sweet, juicyness of the orange was almost coma-inducing.

It is 4 pm at the office.  I am sitting in AC, I ate a huge bacon cheeseburger from Fuddrucker’s at lunch, and my body thinks it is 1:30 am so I am struggling to type this post.

I love seeing God move.


Actions

Information

2 responses

21 04 2008
Chip

Glad to have you back … and I know Jessica is, too. Sounds like it was an amazing trip. God is Good!

22 04 2008
Mama Spoon

Son, I am so proud of you and so thankful that you have returned home safely. God will continue to bless you and Jessica because of the selflessness each of you has when responding to God’s call. I praise God for you! I pray for the people of India and especially that these 50 children will grow to make a difference for their nation.

Leave a comment