Jesus is everything….

25 04 2008

I have been home almost a week now and I am still chewing on the events of the last couple of weeks.  I am learning that I need to be completely reliant on Jesus in order to see Him work.

Here in the west, we are so used to taking care of things without praying that it is almost like we walk beside Jesus and look over at Him every once in a while to say “Hi.”

I don’t think He wants us to relate to Him that way.  I think He wants us to completely rely on Him; to let Him carry us and when we walk, to hold His hand so that we go where He goes.

The things I keep praying for: community transformation, healing, revival…they will all come if we put Jesus first.  I am not saying to not pray for those things, but praying for those things must not take priority over my pursuit of Him.  He really is all that I need.  Everything I could ever want.  Everything.

Here is one of the stories from the trip that sticks out to me.  I don’t want to use her name for safety reasons, but T-ma is the mother of the home I was at.  T-ma told us of a day when the kids came home from school and she asked them what they did there.  A couple of the kids non-nonchalantly said they had had their picture taken with Tony Uncle and Cherie Auntie.  T-ma was curious as to who these people were and the boy from the picture said he wasn’t sure, but asked Tony Uncle how is walk with Jesus was.  He didn’t get much of a response from Tony Uncle.  When T-ma finally saw the picture (which I think was in the local newspaper) there were 2 of her kids sitting next to Tony & Cherie Blair.

Here was a child, seated next to one of the most powerful men in the world and the first thing on his mind was this man’s relationship to Jesus.

I pray that I may also put Him more than just first in my life!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment